26 April 2024
Royal Sutton Coldfield School’s annual parliamentary debating competition

Last night at The Royal Sutton School (formerly John Wilmott) our 19th annual schools’ debating competition took place. I had the great pleasure and privilege of chairing and introducing the debates.

The competition was held at Royal Sutton school because, for the first time since the competition began 22 years ago, they won it last year.

And our host and head teacher, Nicola Gould, clutching last year’s coveted trophy welcomed us…

The eight debates and 16 debaters put on a brilliant show and hugely entertained and amused us over the next couple of hours.

The judges had to take some time to decide as the results were so close, but finally agreed that the winners of the competition 2024 are:





Outstanding debater of the night went to Charlie O’Neill from Arthur Terry School ….


The runner up debating team was Bishop Vesey’s Grammar School ….


And the winning school for 2024 ….


Huge congratulations to the Royal Sutton School for its great win last night! The winners, Toby Fisher and Bilal Williams-Jameel, here with their headteacher Ms Gould and last year’s winners, Hunor Veres and Tatenda Mutonga.